Uncategorized

Valencia: Las Fallas 2015. A Must See!

Hey guys, I’m sorry I’ve been MIA. Like most of you, I’ve been busy with work, private classes and working through migraines. Well, I’m back…and with a new post!

Plaza del Ayuntamiento was packed for Las Mascletas
Plaza del Ayuntamiento was packed for Las Mascletas

This past weekend, I was in Valencia for Las Fallas. I arrived Friday night, the 13th until Monday morning, the 16th. The Las Fallas festival takes place every year on the same dates from March 15th to March 19th but there are activities and events leading up to this week for everyone. It’s one of the biggest and most popular festivals in Spain. These were some of my favourite moments:

audio firework and firecracker display in town hall
audio firework and firecracker display in town hall

1. Las Mascletas- Spain is known for having large festivals and parties and for generally being loud. The Fallas are exactly that. Everyday at 2pm, there is a Mascleta, a display of firecrackers and fireworks that lasts about 6min along, ending with an impressive amount of firecrackers like the sound of an earthquake. It’s not for the faint-hearted but it is quite exciting to be there. We went on Saturday morning and were in the heart of the Plaza del Ayuntamiento to experience the audio display of noise.

Las Mascleta
Las Mascleta

2. I rarely ever get scared but firecrackers going off in the street while you’re walking is a little bit crazy especially when the ones throwing them are small kids from 4 years old. These firecrackers can be exciting but again, not for the faint-hearted especially when you have to run away from one on the street or watch your every step. A small secret, I participated in lighting and throwing these firecrackers with my little bro, Alex, who had quite a bit of knowledge of firecrackers for 13 years old but we threw them on his vacant street in a small town called La Eliana, so it wasn’t bad. It was a lot of fun. If you happen to go next year and you can’t wake up from a night of partying, these are the best wake-up calls.

La Fuerza- main statue in the Plaza
La Fuerza- main statue in the Plaza

IMG_20150314_162740733

  1. The Fallas are comical statues made of paper mache, wood and cardboard and this year there are 400 of them. Seeing the Fallas displayed all over Valencia was amazing to see. Some were quite elaborate and intricate in detail which made me appreciate them even more. Most of them weren’t finished yet but they have until the 15th to finish them. The tallest structure stands at 20m tall and is called La Fuerza which is in the Plaza del Ayuntamiento. I also had the opportunity to see the completed Fallas in La Eliana as well which I really enjoyed. Thereare 4 fallas represented by 4 individual groups from the town. They also take turns holding paella parties for their team to celebrate the festivities. There are also obstacle races and games for the younger children.

IMG_20150314_165825681

my favourite falla because of its beauty and attention to detail.
my favourite falla because of its beauty and attention to detail.

4. Today, on the 19th of March, is the burning of all of the Fallas (or La Crema) around Valencia which I’m sure will be simply amazing. I wish I could be there but I know that this festival has been one of my favourites and I will definitely return again, next year.

Bunelos, a tasty specialty during the Fallas. Best eaten with chocolate.
Bunelos, a tasty specialty during the Fallas. Best eaten with chocolate.

Have you ever attended Las Fallas? If so, did you enjoy it? Tell me about your experience.

3 thoughts on “Valencia: Las Fallas 2015. A Must See!

  1. Sounds like you have lots of fun! Those statues are so much more detailed than I expected them to be, too bad they burn them in the end.

    Like

    1. I know. They’re so intricate in detail and it’s sad seeing them burn. I think after they have a competition, the winner’s falla is kept somewhere without being burnt. I think but I’m not entirely sure.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard they keep the winner too, perhaps in a storage space somewhere. I’d be cool if they put them in a museum or something though!

        Like

Leave a comment