Uncategorized

Running and Injuries

While in Spain, I have grown to enjoy running even more so than I did back home. I’m not sure why, it could be because of the scenic views that draw my attention every time, the unbeaten paths or because of the challenge of running my first half marathon earlier this year in Madrid. Having to train for something rather than just running was kind of exhilarating and it still is. I have signed up for a 10k virtual charity race for the month of January and a half marathon in Malaga in March. Running has always drawn my attention not just for keeping fit but for relieving stress and collecting my thoughts.

This year, I have more time on my hands to train and despite the cold weather I have been running 3 times a week, if not 4. Lately, I have run into injuries and I have no idea how. The one thing about a knee or ankle injury is that you have to rest and let it take its course and heal. I’ve had knee pain for nearly 2 weeks now and ankle pain for just a few days (probably from all the dancing at the weekend). I’ve had a problem with my knees (bursitis) for maybe Not running for 2 weeks isn’t good, not just for my training but physically. I feel exhausted and run down when I don’t run even if it’s just a short run. Today, I managed to run 2k but it was horrible. My knee wasn’t having any of it and I had to cut it short. Plus, the extremely cold weather hurt my lungs and had me coughing for the morning.

Despite having had a few bad weeks, I end up doing most of my runs in the evenings even though I have more free time in the mornings. It’s strange for me but sometimes I like the feeling of running in the dark when no one can barely see you. I don’t think it’s a bad thing as long as I’m not running at midnight or so. Usually, I’m in the habit of running during the week and not during the weekends because I have to clean, relax or go out. Some days, it’s hard to run in the mornings despite being up early but the best source of motivation for me is music so I just have to make a habit of grabbing my ipod and running out the door even if it’s blistery cold outside which is every weekday. Brrr.

I’ve got roughly a month to a month and a half of training for my 10k so I need to make sure I’m fully healed by then. Easy run days and lots of rest. Above, I mentioned that I signed up for a virtual charity race, which means I can run the race here in my town but during the month of January and I’m running it for a charity called BIG: Brain injury is Big which was part of the virtual race here: http://www.virtualrunneruk.com/enter-jan15-race   At this point, I would just like to get back to running even just for at least 2-5k before the Christmas holidays because once holidays start, I won’t have time to run and frankly, I will be with my family and travelling. Well, for now on, I will rest, ice, compress and elevate like my gym teacher used to tell me and slowly get back into it. Later, I can train harder.

Circle-Hop

2 thoughts on “Running and Injuries

Leave a comment